Blogging · Writing

She made me sad; Review for Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Image

I never thought of suicide as an answer from a messed up life. Yes, ‘an answer’ but sometimes I do think of doing it, or likely trying, as if trying different ice-creams, that easy. I thought of different ways how to take my own life when I’m utterly down, when I’m feeling sick of people being vile with me. I thought of hanging myself int the bathroom, but took it back because I don’t want to kill my father or sisters from heart-attack. But I prefer less painful and traumatic……… Taking a handful of pills. Yes, just like what Hannah Baker did in this story.

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Hannah Baker died, I mean decided to end her life for ‘Thirteen Reasons’, and I’m not going to mention all of it here for I don’t wanna be a spoiler, it is indeed a very nice book and I want you, readers, to read it yourself. Hannah Baker made me sad with her story, she got played with boys, duped and everybody was so insensitive with her. Rumors about spread in her school and she thought someone will be there for her, but no. Even her friend ‘Jessica’ turned her back on Hannah, and believed the rumors against her. Now, Hannah met another girl, thought they we’re good, but, wrong! she just used her. The same with the boys, Hannah was toyed with different boys, but the last one was her intention, she used him on purpose, and that I won’t tell either why she did that. 

Clay Jensen, is the guy who fancies Hannah, or more likely loved Hannah. He’s also on the list and he felt terrible knowing the secrets behind Hannah’s death. But somehow Clay felt good knowing that Hannah, liked him too, but it’s too late. He let chances slipped away, until Hannah’s gone. He wanted to help Hannah, give her hope that there’s still someone who doesn’t believe in rumors, who doesn’t look bad towards her, and that’s him. But it’s over. 

Now, I felt sad, with the whole package. With Hannah who got her reputations messed up, made fun of and respect was never given to her by those people (except Clay) I found myself connected with Hannah, only that I could take control of myself, I fought back and let them see that words can’t tear me apart. That’s what Hannah didn’t do, and she didn’t give Clay a chance to help her. And Clay, who got the opportunities, let the chances go.

The book really got me from the very beginning, and I loved the back as well as Hannah. it is certainly worth a read. 

Leave a Reply

