Blogging

The Sugar Queen (Review)

The moment I finished “The Peach Keeper” by Sarah Addison Allen, I got famished for more of her books. Craved for the lush story with hints of magic and love, that will truly get you hooked, and fall under the spell.

I always believed that books will always find you; it will undoubtedly find its way to you.

I’m not really much of an eBook reader slash user; I am an old-fashion lass who prefers the sexy pages and the scent of a book. But because I’m still unable to go to my favourite book stop, I reluctantly looked for a pdf file of the “Sugar Queen” as I really can’t wait to get through the story. It took me nearly three days, searching and digging websites for a pdf file of this book, and when I finally found one, I read immediately.

The next day, on my way to work I went to my favourite bookstore since I still got plenty of time, and in some queer circumstances, as I sashay the books aside to look behind of one stack, I saw a familiar red and light yellowish cover of a book. My heart thudded with exhilaration; my eyes shined 5x more than they usually do because it’s the “The Sugar Queen” and it’s what I’ve been looking for days.

………………………..

Winter is her favourite time of the year, Josey Cirrini, paperback romances and sugary treats are her refuge every night, all perching peacefully and clandestine behind her closet. Until she find Della Lee Baker perched inside her closet. Della Lee is a waitress at a local restaurant, who is one part adversary of Josey, but Della Lee has become a great deal to Josey’s life, her constricted existence quickly changed and expand, that she even got close to Chloe Finley – A young woman who is chased by books. The two of them became friends quickly, and Adam, who she has been in love with ever since find her striking in her red cardigan which is her lucky charm.

The story is about how we should explore life, and get out of the comfort zone. The Sugar Queen brimmed with warmth and sprinkled with magic will surely get you spell-bound with every twist and turns. It is filled with love and friendship that is truly mesmerizing; and surprise, surprises will fall upon you like snow.

6202183
Source: Goodreads

Book: The Sugar Queen

Author: Sarah Addison Allen